Volunteer Spotlight – Michael Kuntz

by

Our program sees volunteers come and go on a regular basis. However, we do have a core group that have been with us for many years. One volunteer in particular, Michael Kuntz, has been volunteering with our program almost 15 years…  By the way, he is  our longest serving volunteer! He will be celebrating this very important milestone on June 6th. I had a chance to meet with him and find out a little more…

Why did you decide to volunteer with the Emergency Food Hamper Program?

My caseworker Wendy from the March of Dimes, brought me down on a Friday to see about me volunteering at the program. I started the next week.”

You’ve volunteered with us for many years. Have you volunteered with any other organization(s)?

Yes… Al’s Cartage for 10 years in my 20s.  I worked on the dock nights, Monday to Friday. I would sometimes come in on Saturday morning for 4-5 hrs. Sometimes would go with the truck drivers and deliver Amway with them. I also worked at the March of Dimes in Kitchener for a few years. One of the jobs I did was bagging earphones that were shipped to Air Canada in Toronto.”

What keeps you coming back year after year?

“Well, it gets me out the house, and I love volunteering here. I like to see the nice people who work here.”

Over the years Michael has worked almost 2500 hours!  You will find him in the warehouse organizing and stocking the milk cooler;  restocking shelves with canned goods and kraft dinner; and enjoying several cups of coffee throughout his shift.

So I had to ask him:

What is your favourite job?

He replied in his usual boisterous voice:

“Anything but bagging flour!”

What do you enjoy doing when you are not volunteering?

“I watch the NHL playoffs.  My favourite show is 2 ½ Men that I watch 5 times a week… And when I’m not working I like watching my soaps and sleeping.”

Michael loves to make people laugh and smile. His memory is amazing!  He knows everyone’s birthday on staff plus the volunteers; he remembers every conversation you have had; and you might just catch him singing a song, just because. If you take the time to get to know him, you will find out how special his heart is, and that you have a friend for life!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight – Michael Kuntz”

  1. Volunteer Spotlight: Mark G. | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] and staff here. I really enjoy working with Matt, Raymond, Jesse, Wanda, Candace, Val, Rolf, Oscar, Pickles, Connie, Ursula, Daniel, and whole bunch of others! All these people form a community doing good […]

Leave a Reply

