Volunteer Spotlight – Connie Becker

by

Twice a week, right before we open, the staff is greeted cheerfully by this volunteer, whose enthusiasm sets the tone for the day. Connie is the name and packing hampers is her game. Okay, okay, I will try not to be so funny…

Connie has been packing hampers with our program for five years. Give or take some time off, Connie has probably packed closed to 40 000 hampers. She works extremely hard when she is here, and ensures that each hamper she packs for the families & individuals, are packed with care.  Here are the interview questions that Connie answered, which I am honoured to share with you.

What made you decide to volunteer with the Emergency Food Hamper Program?

“I was on kidney dialysis and I wasn’t able to work, but I still felt the need to do something with myself that didn’t require full-time hours… And I just happened to be here one day with my friend, and saw the pin up for volunteers needed. So this gave me the chance to do something with myself and help where help was needed.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“I have needed help from the Food Bank many times, and this gives me the chance to give back, even if it’s just in the smallest of ways by giving my time… And because it makes me feel like I’m doing something good and worthwhile with my time. It’s a real eye opener as to how many families live in or below poverty in our city.”

How has volunteering with us made and impact in your life?

“It sure makes you grateful for the things you have, because there are a lot of people out there that have less or nothing at all.”

What are some of your hobbies and interests, when you aren’t volunteering of course?

“I like to walk when I can, swimming is something I really enjoy, or a nice quiet walk with my dog up north. Most of all spending time with my grandchildren.”

Learning a little more about Connie has confirmed what I have know about her from working with her the past couple of years… Her strength is inspiring. I can be certain that when she is in, there will be plenty of giggles and a good amount of silliness. Plus the people she serves food hampers to will go home knowing that she took the time to make sure they are going home with enough food.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Volunteer Spotlight – Connie Becker”

  1. National Volunteer Week: how our volunteers build community | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] people they are packing hampers for, and talking them through difficult situations. Our volunteer Connie told me this […]

  2. Volunteer Spotlight: Mark G. | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] here. I really enjoy working with Matt, Raymond, Jesse, Wanda, Candace, Val, Rolf, Oscar, Pickles, Connie, Ursula, Daniel, and whole bunch of others! All these people form a community doing good work, […]

Leave a Reply

