Volunteer Spotlight – Pearl

by

Last week, I got the chance to speak with Pearl while she was working in the warehouse. You can rely on her to get the task done, for example, packaging our rice. She is very organized, and she does an outstanding  job getting this important staple ready for our patrons. It’s something she takes pride in doing when she comes in to volunteer twice a week.  You can also find her tidying the clothing donations when she’s here. She gets along well with everyone, and she makes you feel welcome.  Pearl is always cheery, I usually see her smiling and joking when she’s in the warehouse. Anton, one of our drivers,  needs to watch out when he pulls Pearl’s apron strings though… She can be a little mischievous, in a fun playful way. Here’s a little bit more about our wonderful Pearl…

How long have you lived in Canada?

22 years”

What country are you originally from?

“Yugoslavia. I’m Hungarian.”

How did you hear about volunteering with us?

“Saw an ad and then applied to volunteer.”

How long have you worked with us?

“I’ve worked here since 2006”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“To keep busy and to work with people. And to get to know others.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“I’ve learned a lot working here, and I’ve learned how to work with many different people.”

Have you volunteered with any other organizations?

“Since I am retired this is my first time volunteering. I worked many years in retail.”

What are some of your hobbies and interests when you are not working here?

“I enjoy cooking for my husband. Reading, walking, and knitting. I love to go dancing every 2-3 months with my husband. Dancing keeps you young. I’ve been dancing since I was 15.”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

