Passions Driven Life

by

Hi everyone, my name is Lucas Lu and I am one of the Summer Student Special Projects assistants here at the Emergency Food Hamper Program. I am thrilled to be given this opportunity to work here alongside many amazing staff members, and the chance to learn from people that come from different social and economic backgrounds.

Just a little bit about myself. I have just finished my third year of the business program at Wilfrid Laurier and have one more year to go before I can see the light at the end of the tunnel! My two biggest passions in life are technology and social innovation. They are seemingly two very isolated fields, but if we dig deep enough, we will start to see their roots are all interconnected in every way possible.

Technology can truly change the way we work, live and interact with one another. The birth of computer technology and the internet made this even more evident. In the summer of 2009, I started a new technology venture with a few friends that aims to create a dashboard for researching, collecting and managing information. Through the process of building a business, I was given many opportunities to expose myself to many of the latest technological inventions that bear the potential to make our community a better place to live for all.

The capitalist system has long been labeled “the profit machine”, and it is true. Business owners take all means necessary to maximize profit for themselves and for their companies, often at the cost of negatively impacting their community members, environment and society. However, a patch of light was shed on the surface when Bill Gates, the true capitalist himself, mentioned a brand new concept about capitalism a few years ago. He said that, in order for capitalism and the western economy to continuously prosper and evolve, capitalists and business owners must adopt a new form of capitalism, one which values intangible impacts on society just as much as profits. In other words, business decisions should be made in a morally, socially and environmentally responsible manner in order to be sustainable. From that very moment on I realized the importance of fully utilizing the power of technology to make it truly beneficial to the greatest number of people possible. Places like The Emergency Food Hamper program will allow me to experience first hand contact with the marginalized community and identify ways that technology could make an impact on their lives.

My other passion in life is social innovation and justice programs. The reason is simple. I moved to this country with my mom about five years ago.  As I look back on the journey that I’ve taken in this country I realize that I owe a debt to Canada and her people for providing the resources and opportunities that got me to where I am today. For this reason, I am extremely grateful to her and know that I have a moral obligation to do whatever I can to give back and help the community members who are struggling with their lives. I first started volunteering at St.John’s Kitchen in 2009 where I organized a big cooking event with help from my friends at school. Through my time at St.John’s Kitchen, I learned that in order for me to serve the needs of patrons better, I have to learn as much about their lives as possible, and the best way to do that is to be with them and listen to their stories. Ever since then, I tried to volunteer as much as can at places like St.John’s Kitchen and after school literacy programs for low-income families.

One of the things that I most look forward to while working at the Emergency Food Hamper Program is the chance to talk and listen to people’s stories and really be able to see and feel the world from their perspectives.

Thank you to those who have taken the time to read my blog post – I hope I didn’t throw you off with too much information. All in all, I am still learning as much as possible in every moment of my life and hopefully can use this knowledge one day to help make a change in another person’s life.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Passions Driven Life”

  1. Christine Says:

    Welcome Lucas! It’s great to have you here, and as the PR/Development person for HOF, I’m thrilled at your interests in technology and social innovation. I share your enthusiasm – I too came here as a teenager and will forever be grateful to Canada for providing me with a safe home and for an education I would not have received elsewhere. I look forward to working with you.

    • Lucas Lu Says:

      Thanks Christine for your kind words and warm welcome! I am glad to see like-minded people who share the same enthusiasm with me. Hopefully we will have a chance to collaborate on certain projects during my time at EFHP!

Leave a Reply

