Volunteer Spotlight- Erika Brandt

by

I’ve worked with Erika for the past two and a half years, and I’m constantly amazed at her dedication to both our program and the entire House of Friendship organization. She has been able to take time from her busy work and school schedule to volunteer here once a week. Over the years, Erika has given an impressive 609 hours to packing hampers and  packaging food. Here’s a little more about this awesome volunteer!

How did you hear about the House of Friendship?

“I had heard the House of Friendship mentioned a number of times by different people. I recall learning more about the House of Friendship when doing a project about community resources in high school.”

How long have you volunteered with our program?

“I have volunteered with the Emergency Food Hamper Program over the past three and a half years or so.”

Have you worked with any other House of Friendship programs?

“Yes.  I work at the Charles Street Men’s Hostel as a dishwasher. I have been there for approximately two years.”

Are there any other programs that you volunteer or have volunteered with?

“I have volunteered with the House of Friendship’s Live and Learn Program,  Sunnyside Home, and through my church.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Volunteering has made a huge impact in my life.  I have met new people, gained confidence, and discovered the career path I hope to take through volunteering.  Volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program has been an awesome experience; I always feel welcomed and it is always a treat to work alongside the fine people who work and volunteer at EFHP.”

Are you still in school? If so, what are you studying?

“I’m still in university; I will be entering my fourth year in the fall.  I am studying Therapeutic Recreation at UW, and I hope to work with older adults or children after I graduate.”

We’re sad that you’re unable to volunteer with us since you found a job. What kind of work are you currently doing?

“For the summer I am working at Sunbeam Development Center in their Day Program.  I’m really enjoying working with these individuals; they come from a variety of backgrounds and they are a lot of fun to work with!  I assist with personal care and help with running programs, as well as build relationships with these wonderful people!”

What kinds of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I love to be outdoors; I love hiking and biking (anywhere and everywhere). I also love to read when I have the time, and enjoy spending time with my family and friends.  In addition, I enjoy camping with my family in Northern Ontario, and love to cross-country ski (not that I am very good).  I am also involved in a number of activities through my church, including planning and running a Vacation Bible School this summer.”

We appreciate all the work you have done over the years, Erika. We wish you much success with your last year of studies and future endevours. Thanks so much Erika!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

