Volunteer Spotlight: Sherry

by

It’s my pleasure to talk about this great volunteer. She’s given us over 2 100 hours of help over her seven years of volunteering at our program. With over 300 hours this year alone, let’s all give it up for Sherry!

You’ll often find Sherry traveling from one side of the warehouse to the other with bags after bags of potatoes. On one end she diligently sorts and packs potatoes into bags, and then brings them across the warehouse to keep our hamper aisles full. On her way she’ll often stop for a brief conversation, as she’s full of different ideas to talk about! So today I’m here to share a more “formal” conversation I had with her so I knew more specific details about her that I could share.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I probably saw something on the news or heard it on the radio, so I came down to inquire if there were any positions available.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“It’s important because I put myself in the situation of others. For the last few years I haven’t been working so I know what it’s like sometimes…so naturally I wanted to help out. Also by coming here I get to hear how other do things and manage in different situations.”

Are there any other programs that you volunteer or have volunteered with?

“I’ve been with various programs (I can’t remember all the names) to help listen to people. I’ve been through a lot of different situations throughout my life and enjoy talking to other people so it’s been a good fit. Sometimes I’ve just gone to see people in the hospital, help seniors in their homes, or talk to youth about different feelings they have and issues they’re facing.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Working here has allowed me to help people. I’ve always wanted to be a social worker but found it hard to achieve all the things I needed to get into school. Also volunteering allows me to contribute to the best of my abilities towards improving someone else’s well-being.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I really enjoy bagging potatoes. However I like bagging any food item.”

Sherry is one of the few volunteers that we rely on to come in week after week to continually bag potatoes throughout her entire shift. Some of the other volunteers have quoted her as the “best potato packer ever”, since she always does well to constantly keep our potato bins full. And if you’re unsure of the value potatoes have to our hampers, please read more here.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I have an old radio that I like to listen to. Then there’s also my Lincoln that I enjoy taking care of during the summer, but now it’s put away in storage. I go to church every Sunday. Plus I enjoy exploring new thoughts and theologies.”

Well Sherry it’s been a pleasure “bragging” about you! You’re an amazing volunteer with a big heart. It’s no easy job to commit to keeping our hampers stocked with potatoes, or even sorting through the many skids and bags we receive, so again we’d like to say a very big thank you for all your dedication! Look forward to more working years together!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight: Sherry”

  1. National Volunteer Week: how our volunteers build community | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] like volunteering here because they are drawn to food issues in some capacity. Like our volunteer Sherry said, “I volunteer here because I like helping people with their […]

Leave a Reply

