Volunteer Spotlight: Cassidy

by

It’s my pleasure to introduce you all to Cassidy, one of our youngest volunteers.

Cassidy is quickly approaching her one year anniversary and dedication to volunteering with our program and also her 17th birthday! Over the last year Cassidy has volunteered about 140 hours. Cassidy enjoys coming here to talk to the volunteers and staff, but also works hard while she’s in. She’s not picky on what job we assign her to in the warehouse because what’s really important is for her to come in here and make a difference for those in need of help. So while she was working, I took a seat beside her to ask her a few questions:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I was referred here to do some Community Service hours. After I finished doing those hours I offered to keep coming in to help because I’ve enjoyed working here. It’s been a great experience.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“I like helping the community. Many people think I don’t care about food insecurity since I’m a teenager, but I do care! And this is just one of the ways I can show it and make a difference for people in need.”

Are there any other programs that you volunteer or have volunteered with?

“I’ve sold candy bars to raise money for UNICEF. My cousin was doing it one summer, so I helped her. Then the supervisor liked my work and encouraged me to keep going.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Volunteering here has allowed me to meet new people, keeps me busy, and most importantly it allows me to help out. I like helping others, and giving back to the community. I know some people who use this program so I am aware of how much this work helps people. Right now this is the best way I know how to help them.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“Well I work at a senior’s home a few times a week. But other than that I like biking, spending time with animals, hanging out with my friends and art. I like painting, anime, and drawing animals. I’m no good at doodling – I need something specific to draw.”

After I asked Cassidy a few more questions about her drawings and saw pictures of her very adorable cats on her cell phone, she offered to draw a picture for me. So I quickly rushed to give her a pencil, paper and an eraser to watch her work away. Here’s a picture of what she drew:

In my opinion she definitely got talent! But she also has a lot of other things like a great personality, which all of us have had a chance to get to know over the last year. All of us look forward to learning more about you Cassidy and seeing your bright future unfold!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

