Volunteer Spotlight: Jon

by

Let me introduce you all to Jon. Jon has been packing hampers with our program for about the last four months. In the 40 hours he’s volunteered (approximately) he’s seen some of our busier days here, which will help him prepare for the busy days still to come! Either way Jon seems excited for the challenge of packing hampers each week that he’s here. So just before he left after a steady afternoon of packing hampers I sat down with him in our break room to learn more about him:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“When I was dropping off a donation of clothes to the Charles Street Men’s Hostel I inquired if there were any other ways that I could help out. I didn’t know if there was something specific I could bring in that the organization needed, or if House of Friendship accepted volunteers. Then I was referred to this program. So I asked a friend if he was interested in this also, and we started coming in together.”

Are there any other programs that you volunteer or have volunteered with?

“I just recently got accepted to be a Big Brother, but haven’t found a match yet. I’m really looking forward to it though.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Volunteering is something I’ve always considered doing because I value the idea of giving back to the community. One day I’m hoping to be a police officer because I want to help people. And hopefully once I’m hired I’ll be able to continue volunteering here or with other programs.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“Packing hampers. I know the other work to fill the shelves and bag potatoes is important but it’s not as exciting. I like reading through the food slip and being able to match food donations to a family’s needs.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not volunteering?

“I work at an insurance company in town. I drive up North a lot – my wife is up there in school to be a teacher. Otherwise I enjoy working out, hanging out with friends, reading, and watching movies.”

Well Jon it’s been a pleasure having you around for the last few months. You always come in with a big smile and a lot of enthusiasm to help us pack hampers. And it’s also appreciated that you’re willing to do some of the other warehouse jobs so that we can continually process through the many donations we receive each day. Thank you!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

