Volunteer Spotlight: Martin

by

Martin likes to keep his eye on the horizon, and we begin and end each week by knowing the latest from our friendly neighbourhood weather man. Martin faithfully comes in twice a week and always makes sure to pick up a paper, fold it to the weather section and to show the staff what’s in store for the week. Martin also wants to know if we think it’s a thumb up or thumbs down in our opinion (opinions are usually pretty mixed).

He works very hard at making sure things are ready and setup for several of our volunteers who do specialized tasks like recycling old food slips.  He always has a friendly word or a peice of trivia to share and we are all very proud to count Martin as a part of our extended family. He’s been coming here since June of 2001 – which is almost ten years! In all those years he’s volunteered for about 4000 hours! About 300 of those hours were done in last year (2010).

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I remember it was the Volunteer Action Center that told me about this program. ”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“I like it because it keeps me busy. There’s not always much to do at home, so I like getting out to help in the community a few times a week.”

Are there any other programs that you volunteer or have volunteered with?

“For over five years I’ve helped out by doing dishes at Mary’s Place.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“Everything. Mondays I usually work more in the warehouse helping stock the milk cooler and labeling totes while we sort through the Loblaws shipment. On Fridays I work with Paul bagging different things like tea, granola bars and toilet paper.”

For each time that Martin stocks the shelf in the milk cooler we are able to provide cow’s milk to about 80 families. He also fills another shelf with goats milk and any extra items we may have that day.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I spend a lot of time doing maintenance around my house like snow blowing my driveway and making sure everything is working. When I’m not doing that I like to go online and watch some movies or shows on my computer. At home I also have a bird named JO that I take care of. I use to have a bird named OJ too.”

Martin it’s always a pleasure to hear you talk about your birds and show us the weather reports. We also very impressed by your tremendous lucky streak, which has allowed you to win a prize each year at our Volunteer Party. You have a big heart and we can never say enough about how thankful we are for all your support, hard work and dedication! Thank you!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

