Volunteer Spotlight: Bruce

by

Here we have a brief snap shot of one of the many loads Bruce often lugs around the warehouse for us. We’re fortunate to see Bruce come in to volunteer with us twice a week in the mornings. He’s a huge help in getting us ready for our morning rush to serve hampers when we open at eleven.

Bruce has been volunteering with us for since December of 2002 – that’s almost ten years! In these ten years he’s volunteered for approximately 1 800 hours! That’s a big commitment, which isn’t slowing down because he’s already volunteered more than fifty hours this year alone! So to honor his dedication over all these years we wanted to take this chance to show you a little bit more about this wonderful volunteer.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“When I started it was to come in with my son to help him get his high school community service hours. He’s been out of high school for quite a while, which means I’m probably coming up on my ten years now since I remember getting a five-year certificate for volunteering at an appreciation dinner a few years ago…I’ve seen a lot of people come and go here.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“Probably because it allows me to help others, which makes me feel good. This is a rewarding experience because I’m doing something that makes a difference for people in emergency situations. Also it helps that you’re able to meet a variety of people.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“It’s opened my eyes to the number of needy people in our community. I never imagined that a food hamper program would serve so many hampers each day. Also I’ve learned more about the many different branches of House of Friendship. This is a huge organization full of a lot of good programs.”

On average this year we’ve provided approximately 159 hampers each day that we’re open. However it’s important to note that some days we’ve distributed over 200 hampers, while a few other days we’ve barely hit 100.

To read more about the various programs within House of Friendship, click here.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“That’s a tough question, but probably bagging mushrooms…There’s no particular reason for it though.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not volunteering here?

“I volunteer to help maintain an ice rink in Waterloo near my house throughout the winter. Also I help my neighbours by shoveling their driveways in the winter. But since that’s over, I’ll start helping some of my neighbours out by mowing their lawns. And I’ll keep busy with friends and family, and going hunting and fishing occasionally.”

Wow so not only is Bruce super-helpful at our program, he’s also an asset around his neighbourhood. And to quote him one final time, “if you’re thinking about volunteering, you should just do it. It’s amazing what you’ll learn.” Well said Bruce!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

