Volunteer Spotlight – Rob

by

There are certain tasks that we can’t always find a volunteer for, like washing totes. Part of the reason for this is that it’s kind of a boring job since the equipment is in a corner that’s somewhat blocked off from the rest of the warehouse. However Rob actually looks forward to this task; in fact it’s often one of the first things he does after signing in.

For the last twelve months our program has had the privilege of working with Rob. Rob comes in whenever we think we’ll need an extra set of hands in the afternoon in the warehouse. But here’s more information about Rob:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I accompanied my wife to a meeting with her case worker and inquired if they knew of any work opportunities. She told me of a few different positions but this one sounded the most interesting, so I came down to apply and it’s worked out well ever since.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“Wow that’s a hard question…probably bagging potatoes and not for any particular reason really. I don’t mind doing anything here. I really like cleaning – I’m a bit of a clean freak.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“Well one reason is because it keeps me busy. Also because I feel like I’m helping people and the community. But it’s mostly for the people – to interact with everyone here and to know that I’m doing something to help others in a tough spot. This experience has helped me make a lot of new friends and I’ve caught up with old friends who come in for assistance.”

Are there any other programs that you have volunteered with?

“I volunteered at Worth a Second Look and St Johns Soup Kitchen.”

How did you get involved with those organizations?

“My wife is a server at St. Johns Soup Kitchen.”

Is that where you met her?

“No actually. We were at a gathering and I shared my ice cream with her and we kept talking. The more we talked, the more I liked her…then we’ve basically been together ever since.”

So what else keeps you busy when you’re not volunteering?

“I like drawing but I did it more in high school. I’d draw graphics, album covers, skeletons, snakes, serpents and gargoyles. I like having fish and snakes but my apartment doesn’t allow pets so my friend is taking care of my snake. I enjoy playing bass guitar. My friends and I use to have a band but now we’re too told for that. We still jam a couple of times a week or sometimes for the whole weekend though.”

You’re never too old for a band! What kind of music do you play?

“Well I started with classical piano but later took guitar lessons. I think once you’ve know classical music you can play anything. Now we play a lot of heavy metal.”

Well anything else you’d like to add?

“I think that’s basically me in a nutshell…I’m pretty simple – but I hope I helped you.”

Yes this conversation definitely helped! I learned a lot more about this quiet volunteer. We don’t always have a lot of time to talk throughout the day but Rob’s always impressed me since he has a great memory. Even if he hasn’t talked to you in a while he’ll pick up the conversation right where you left off to ask you how things went.

Rob is always willing to go above and beyond to do any small or big task to make your day just a little bit easier. Thanks Rob!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight – Rob”

  1. michele sararas Says:

    Thanks for sharing your story Rob. It is nice to hear about your interests, and learn about the great person that you are.
    (I work next door at the Live and Learn program)

Leave a Reply

