Volunteer Spotlight: Zach

by

I’m here to share another fresh face in our volunteer pool: Zach. Zach began volunteering with us this year, in between searching for a job that will suit his interests after recently finishing his degree in Environment Engineering. Zach brings a lot of enthusiasm when he volunteers here by always being ready to pack a hamper, by lending a helping hand in the warehouse, or by getting to know other volunteers. So far it’s been great getting to casually chat with Zach in the break room, but today it’s his turn to shine in the spotlight.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“My cousin Matt (our Volunteer Coordinator) mentioned that he was feeling short on Tuesdays for volunteers, so I asked him if I could try it out. A few of my friends have also been coming in to volunteer, so that made this a little bit easier too. I already had an idea of what was expected and heard some of the stories about how much they enjoyed their time here.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“One reason is because I feel as though this community has given me a lot of good opportunities, so volunteering is one way I can give back. Also I have lots of free time at the moment, so this gives me a productive way to fill some of it, allowed me to try new things, and I’ve really enjoyed meeting new people.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“It’s opened my eyes to the depths of poverty in our area, and some of the issues facing low-income households within the community. Before volunteering here these aren’t necessarily things I would have encountered or thought about in my day-to-day life so I feel better now that I’m more informed.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“It’s definitely working with “Pickles” in the warehouse by stocking shelves or bagging food. He makes working here more fun because he’s always laughing, and keeps things light and enjoyable since he’s always in a good mood.”

Let’s look at the impact of these two putting up peanut butter on the shelves in our hamper packing aisle. Peanut butter is shipped to us in milk crates. On average each milk crate contains nine 1kg containers and six 500g. This allows us to help approximately fifteen families to receive approximately 329 servings of meat and alternatives, based on the Canada’s food guide.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I like to mountain bike, research investments, play volleyball, rock climb, go camping, and go hiking. I’m also trying to learn how to snowboard.”

You’re a pretty active guy. So are there any other agencies that you volunteer with?

“Currently I don’t. But I have done work with Habitat for Humanity and at the Sunnyside retirement facility.”

Do you have any advice or wisdom to share with any potential volunteers?

“I encourage everyone to give this a shot. It’s a great opportunity to give back to the community and you’re guaranteed to have a good time. Everyone here is really nice and it’s a fun job!”

Zach you’re incredibly helpful! Each day you come in makes a big difference to many families in our community because you’re willing and available to stick it out with us for the full 5 ¼ hours that we’re open to provide food assistance. We wish you the best in your job search, and hope that you’ll continue visiting or being involved with us when you can.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

