Volunteer Spotlight: Inder

by

January is a busy time of the year for our program, but we’re never too busy to accept volunteers! Inder is just one example of this, as he began volunteering here around mid-January. Currently he’s volunteered for approximately 60 hours! And what’s even better is that he’s recruited some of his friends to also volunteer here. Hopefully in the next few weeks I’ll be able to spotlight some of the people he’s brought here, but in the mean time let’s focus on him:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I know my school (Conestoga College) mentioned that House of Friendship takes volunteers but it wasn’t until I did a Google search on the organization that I really got a better sense of what volunteering here would involve.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“I’m in a program right now that’s focused on putting me in a position to help people in the future. So when I have a couple of hours to spare each week, why not help others? Plus this opportunity has introduced me to some new things and new people, and the work done at House of Friendship.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“It’s given me an appreciation for what I have. I see all the different types of people who come in here so it’s helping me to focus on keeping my life together and trying to plan ahead for whatever life will throw at me…Basically I feel kind of sad that people need to experience not having enough food at home. I can’t imagine being in this situation. I wish I could find a way to eliminate the need for people to come here, but for right now volunteering helps me make a difference to the cause.”

Do you volunteer with any other programs?

“At the moment, no. However I am in the process of working with a city of Kitchener to use a community center to host a youth basketball tournament.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I enjoy stocking shelves in the hamper aisle. It feels good getting things done like this because it’s an important step so that the volunteers have all the food available that they need when packing hampers. So even if it’s not busy or there is already an item on the shelf, I know that packing the shelves full of food helps the staff and volunteers to prepare for the following day.”

When packing hampers gets slow, Inder begins the important job of opening boxes to from our Food Bank shipment to stock the shelves so volunteers can pack hampers. When he stocks the section of canned beans in sauce he’ll likely need to open up about two or three boxes, which each hold approximately 24 cans. For each box he puts up on the shelf, our volunteers will be able to pack approximately 18% of the overall hampers throughout the day.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I enjoy playing any kind of sports. I like reading about law and doing research about investments. And I have a part-time job as a bouncer at a local club.”

Inder is a fabulous addition to our volunteer base. He’s comfortable with whatever task we have for him in the warehouse. And it’s especially appreciative that he’s willing to stick around to pack hampers until we close our doors for the day.  Thanks Inder!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

