Volunteer Spotlight: Tracey

by

Recently Tracey celebrated her six month anniversary of volunteering, since she started in October. Over these months Tracy has volunteered for more than 50 hours!

Today I found Tracey unloading a skid of cabbage and lettuce, which is a change of pace from her regular role as a hamper packer. However Tracey comes to us with a great enthusiasm to help people, and doesn’t mind doing whatever task we have to accomplish from our to-do list. So today I asked Tracey to take a break so I could ask her a few questions to share with all of our lovely blog readers:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“Well it was though Matt, the volunteer coordinator. He spoke about the program and mentioned how much House of Friendship relies on volunteers and donations, which got me interested. Then I brought in our youth group with him to pack diapers, bag flour, and sort through apples. I had a lot of fun doing these things, so I asked Matt what day I could help out.”

Flour is one example of an “extra” that we occasionally distribute in our hampers. Sometimes patrons may make a special request for this on their food slip; while other times we offer these items on our window area for volunteers to ask patrons about before handing off the hamper from the warehouse.

Do you volunteer with any other programs?

“I help out a lot in my son’s school twice a week doing anything from classroom assistance, photocopying, supervising field trips – you name it, and I do it! It’s lots of fun, but I wanted to expand who I help out, so I started coming here. Then on top of that I volunteer with my church by leading Sunday school and the youth group, doing bible studies, and helping on the missions committee. I have also helped with the hands of friendship meals, but I’m taking some time away from that. So there’s the short version of a long list!”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“One reason I enjoy volunteering is because it gets me out of the house doing things I wouldn’t otherwise do in my week. There’s a good variety  of things to do here. But it’s important because it gives me the opportunity to help others who aren’t in a situation to help themselves.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Although this opportunity has made me appreciate the things I have and the opportunities I’ve been given more, I think it has impacted my kids more. Seeing me volunteer encourages them to help others when there is something they can do. I’ve even brought my family here to volunteer a few times so they can get some experience, see what I do first-hand, and make a difference for those in need.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“Anything really – it just depends who you do it with. I don’t care if I’m in the freezer or bagging potatoes because I’m usually working with someone. It’s fun getting to know the other volunteers.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I like reading. I try to spend time with my family. We like to go swimming, snowboarding, and riding our bikes. But between here, volunteering at my son’s school, taking care of my family, and my involvement in the church, my week fills up pretty fast. I’m all over the place!”

Tracey has a phenomenal amount of energy! Despite already being involved in so many different volunteer positions and being active with her family, she has managed to make time to help out with our program week after week.  You’re a huge help! Thanks for getting involved with us Tracey!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

