Volunteer Spotlight: Alanna

by

Introducing Alanna! Many of us have yet to get a chance to get to know a lot about Alanna, as she’s only been volunteering since the beginning of March. Alanna was introduced to our program to complete some volunteer hours, which are part of completing her degree. Alanna is one of the many volunteers that our program will provide an opportunity placement for this year. During her placement here we’ve given her a brief orientation of House of Friendship in general and more specifics to our program, but she’s learning more and more each day. However I’m not here to talk about us, so let’s get to know this new volunteer:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“House of Friendship was one of the organizations my school recommended to volunteer with. As part of my Psychology degree through Laurier I’m expected to volunteer for approximately 20 hours this semester. When I looked into this program it seemed to have the most flexibility, which is what I really need with my hectic schedule.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“It’s good to know I’m doing something to make a difference for so many people, instead of just sitting on the couch. And it’s been great interacting with all the other volunteers.”

On average our program needs approximately 22 volunteers to keep our operations running smoothly throughout the day. With that being said, there is also usually no shortage of people to interact with.

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Seeing how many people need to use this service makes me want to try to permanently incorporate volunteering into my schedule. It’s been a great eye-opener to the lives of many people in our region. Also I’ve really enjoyed the sincere thank-you’s that people have to share after I’ve packed a hamper for them.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“Packing hampers, probably because it’s what I do most frequently. It’s just a nice feeling to know I’ve done everything possible to help the family as I’m last person to touch the food that many people have generously shared before it reaches the family. Plus it’s interesting that I can read through the food list and get an idea on the ages of everyone to pick the most appropriate foods for the family and hopefully make sure they get enough of what they need to get through a few days.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I’ve got a job with a pharmacy right now and I’m in school. But in my free time I like to hang out with my friends, snowboard, draw, paint, sketch, and read.”

Alanna thanks a lot for choosing House of Friendship over many other organizations that could have also used your help! It’s been a pleasure getting to know you and we hope you can continue finding time for us in your busy schedule!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

