Volunteer Spotlight: Eric

by

Just as he finished packing one of many hampers from our initial rush when we open at eleven in the morning, I asked Eric if I could sit down with him in the break room to ask him a few questions. He’s been here since the beginning of November of last year to volunteer for about 35 hours but I’ve never really had a chance to have a conversation with him. So here are some of the many things I learned:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“My friend Jon called in to inquire if you guys needed volunteers and asked me if I wanted to come with him. I’ve always wanted to volunteer but I hadn’t pursued anything on my own.”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“I feel good giving back to the community. Helping people gives me a personal high. I like coming back every week to make a difference for so many people in the community.”

Are there any other programs that you volunteer or have volunteered with?

“I’ve helped out by fundraising for various special events over the years by playing in hockey teams or running a marathon.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Well it’s something I’ve begun to talk about a lot. I’m always trying to recruit more of my friends to volunteer here. Volunteering has become a welcomed routine part of my week, so I’m always thinking about how I need to plan my life around being able to come here. I’ve really enjoy volunteering here, and hopefully after I’ll be able to continue volunteering after I become a police officer.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I have a lot of fun packing hampers for families with children. My mom never really allowed me to have a lot of sweet cereals or other treats; so I feel good giving family’s kid-friendly foods like Cheerios and cookies. I think it’ll make the whole family happy.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not volunteering?

“I like reading non-fiction books and about marketing or philosophy. I like working out, hanging out with friends, watching movies. I’m also a bit of a computer geek in the sense that I know how to build a computer, programming and a lot about all the other magical things that make a computer work.”

Eric we hope you continue to encourage your friends to volunteer here. You’re an easy person to work with so it’s been a pleasure to have you here for the last few months. We all look forward to watching you pack many more hampers in the coming months. Thanks for all your hard work!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

