Let’s play a game!

by

Each day our program works with a big group of generous people who continually share their time to help out their local community.  They are an amazing group that includes people from different nationalities, experiences and generations.  Each one has their unique jokes and stories and something to teach us.

On a regular basis these volunteers are all working towards the same goal: helping people receive food assistance. However over the last few days I asked most of our volunteers to work towards another goal: playing a game to help me write this blog post! What was the game might you ask? Good question! The game was called “fill-in-the-blank”. I presented everyone with two phrases, and these are some of the answers I received:

Note: Although all of our volunteers are special and important for many reasons, due to space restrictions I can’t share all the quotes I received.

Volunteering is important to me because ….

  • “It gives me a chance to give back to the community and those in need.”
  • “It’s a worthwhile experience. Helping others feels good.”
  • “The staff, volunteers and patrons are willing to help me practice and learn other languages while I’m here to volunteer.”
  • “It’s a productive way to help me fill some of my spare time.”
  • “I’m retired. I don’t want to sit at home all day. And instead of bugging my wife all day I have a new group of people to annoy that love me (followed by laughter).”

I think other people should volunteer here because …..

  • “This experience is a real eye opener to the level of need.”
  • “There is something for everyone here. The staff are always good about finding a variety of jobs to suit almost any interests, so that makes helping out more enjoyable.”
  • “House of Friendship is a charity that relies on the support of volunteers. Without volunteers many people in the community would miss much-needed assistance.”
  • “This is a fun place to work in. Everyone is always very friendly and easy to get along with. It’s a great place to meet people and make new friends.”
  • “You’re treated really well here. The staff make sure that they sign your birthday card, along with many of the other volunteers, and they sign you good wishes. Plus there are always snacks or treats available in the break room, in case you need to eat after staying longer than anticipated when the program is busy.”

What prize were we able to offer our tireless volunteers for playing along with out little game of fill in the blank?  Well, thanks to the efforts of the Volunteer Action Centre we are able to share a special Volunteer Appreciation Week passport that will enable local volunteers to get free admittance to a number of local museums and events.  More details are listed here.  If you are a Emergency Food Hamper Volunteer, just talk to a staff person and we’ll be more than happy to get you setup with a Volunteer Week passport.

So why do you think volunteering is important?  Leave a comment and share your thoughts.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

