Volunteer Spotlight: Stephanie

by


Stephanie has been volunteering with us once a week since the end of March. She is currently in her third year of Medieval Studies at the University of Waterloo. I had never heard of this program before talking to Stephanie, which makes sense since she told me that there are only three universities that offer it in Ontario. After graduating she’s hoping to use this degree in a career as a teacher or writer.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“When I was looking at the Volunteer Action Centre website I came across this program. It didn’t require a long-term commitment, which is what I was looking for.”

Stephanie only lives in the region during the school year, when summer comes around her brother and her go back home to Pembroke, Ontario to spend time with their family, which is why she was looking for something that she could do for a couple of months.

Why is volunteering important to you?

“I believe volunteering is useful because you connect with people that you may not necessarily get to on a regular basis, whether you are volunteering here, in a nursing home, at Sunday school, or anywhere. Helping out in the community gives you a different perspective of the different lives people live and situations they’re often faced to deal with.”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“Volunteering gives you a purpose. Every human being needs to feel as though they have a purpose.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I like everything! I like the repetition. I like packing hampers. I enjoy talking to people and helping carrying a hamper out to their car when needed. But most of all I like wishing them a good day. It often helps bring a smile to their face, which makes me feel good about volunteering.”

 

Are there any other programs that you have volunteered with?

“I have volunteered with the Salvation Army in Pembroke as a server in the Soup Kitchen. I am also active in my church by helping with Sunday school and Bible School program. Recently I also helped with the book sale at the Breithaupt Centre.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not studying or volunteering?

“I enjoy spending time with my brother, who is in his final year at the UniversityofWaterloo. We will often have a lot of fun composing our own movie music soundtracks. But I also enjoy watching movies, and going for walks. I’m working on composing a wide variety of short stories.”

Stephanie, thanks for allowing me to spend a few minutes with you for this interview. It’s been a great experience to get to know what we do about you so far. All of us here are looking forward to many more months together. We really appreciate the time that you’ve given us so far!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

