Volunteer Spotlight: Erv

by

When I asked Erv to do this interview, he was stocking our bread rack so that the hamper packers would have bread to put in the hampers. I told Erv that I would wait until he was done and he could come and find me. I had a feeling that Erv doesn’t like to leave a job unfinished. He often comes in very quietly and gets straight to work. He told me that he and his wife had their own office supply business called Mr.Stationer for 25 years, before that he worked at another office supply business, this was all before the bigger office supply stores came into the community. Erv has been volunteering with us once a week since the end of March and it’s been a joy to have him here.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I was talking to Oscar, who I have known for years, I said I was looking for something to do to take up some time, he said why don’t you come into food hampers to see what it’s all about, so I did”

Why is volunteering important to you?

“It’s important because it gives me something useful to do, when we had our own business, there was never enough time to volunteer we were always so busy”

How has volunteering made an impact in your life?

“It’s educational, it exposes you to people’s lives and stories”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I like repackaging  things, I also like to pack hampers too.”

Erv was stocking bread before we did this interview, but before that he was repackaging potatoes. Potatoes are a very important staple in our hampers, you can read more about that here.

Are there any other programs that you have (or do) volunteer with?

“I volunteer at Habitat for Humanity for about 5 years now, I handle credit card donations in the head office, I am not there as often anymore. I also volunteered for about 5 years at the Lung Association, when they had an office here in the region. I used to go around and pick up grocery tapes and add them all up”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you’re not working or volunteering?

“I do small jobs every now and then to stay busy. I like to read mystery books as well and visit friends. I like to support local sports, so I like the Kitchener Rangers and watch that sometimes, I also like the Toronto Blue Jays. I have two grown children and two grandchildren that I love to spend time with. I am also involved a little bit in my church”

Thanks for coming in each week Erv and for taking a few minutes to sit down with me, it was great chatting with you and getting to know more about you.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

