Volunteer Spotlight: Wayne

by

Wayne has been volunteering twice a week with us since mid-July.  Since then, he has volunteered over 37 hours! Wayne originally went to school for Accounting and then onto Human Resources.  Looking for something more adventurous, Wayne began working in Corrections.  We are thankful for Wayne’s commitment to volunteering at the EFHP while he is on leave from work.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I heard about House of Friendship through browsing the many volunteer websites.  I think I saw House of Friendship’s listing on the KW Action Board, and I was interested in getting involved.”

What do you enjoy about volunteering at EFHP?

“That’s a hard one because I enjoy so much about what I do here.  I love the opportunity to meet so many different people.  It has been great to get to know the many volunteers and staff here.  I also love the fast-paced environment because it keeps me up and moving about.”

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

“What don’t I like?  I love packing the hampers because it is go, go, go.  I also love just the conversations that I am able to have with the hamper recipients and the other volunteers.  I should also mention my frequent visits to the parking lot to collect the hamper carts!”

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

“Volunteering makes me appreciate what I have, and what I can be grateful for.  It gives me an appreciation for helping others, and how important that is.  It doesn’t get much better than this!”

 Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

“I have volunteered at a number of other programs.  I have volunteered at other food assistance programs like the Waterloo Region Food Bank and a local community centre’s food hamper program.  I have also acted as a volunteer probation officer for Provincial Corrections.”

 What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“I love my sports!  I love just about all sports including hockey, baseball, boxing, UFC and football.  I enjoy working out and going on hikes.  I also enjoy playing video games and watching movies when I want to just relax.  All in all, I just like to keep fit and have fun!”

Thank you for your commitment to volunteering at House of Friendship!  It has been great to get to know you through your time here.  Thanks for taking the time to tell us a little more about yourself outside the EFHP!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

