Volunteer Spotlight: Paul

by

Paul has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program for almost eleven years.  In that time, he has given 1100 hours of his time!  This year alone, he has volunteered over 77 hours.  Paul always has a smile to share with the other volunteers and staff members, making our days a little bit brighter!

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I heard about House of Friendship through a lady at the school that I was attending.  She told me that she thought that I might like it, and she was right!”

 What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

“I like volunteering here because everyone is so nice.  I also really enjoy the work that I am able to do.  Over the years, I have met a lot of really nice people that are now my friends.”

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

“My favourite job is bagging bulk food.  I like that while I am doing this I get to listen to country music on the radio.  I also love my break when I get to visit with people in the lunch room.”

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

“Volunteering has been really good for me because it gets me out and doing things that I love to do.  It makes me feel happy to know that I am doing something for others.”

 Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

“I have been working at Zeller’s for as long as I can remember.  I am one of the greeters there, who welcomes all the shoppers.  On occasion, I also pass out flyers!”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“I love listening to music, especially Kenny Rogers.  I enjoy watching all different types of movies, like comedies and actions.  I love emailing and talking to friends on the phone when we can’t see each other.  When I get together with friends, I like to do fun stuff like going for walks, playing board games and bowling at Waterloo Town Bowl.”

What was one of your favourite memories? 

“One of my favourite memories is getting to meet Kenny Rogers with my dad. That was so exciting!  He is one of my favourite singers and that meeting is something that I won’t forget!”

Paul, it was great to have the chance to sit down with you and chat about what you like to when you aren’t volunteering here!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

