Volunteer Spotlight: Devin

by

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to visit with Devin as he stacked up cases of juice boxes in preparation for the morning rush.  Devin has been volunteering on a weekly basis since October 2000, accumulating over 830 hours.  Devin has made a big commitment of time over the years, and to honour his dedication to the Emergency Food Hamper Program, we wanted to share a little more about this faithful volunteer.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I first heard about House of Friendship through my worker and I thought I might like to give it a try!”

 What do you enjoy about volunteering at EFHP?

“I like working with all the people that volunteer and work here.  I especially enjoy seeing my buddy, Matt.  Before he was my boss, I used to give him a hard time!”

Matt is the volunteer coordinator at the Emergency Food Hamper Program.  If you are interested in volunteering at the EFHP, call 519-742-0662.  We would love to hear from you!

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I don’t really have a favourite job that I do here.  I just do whatever jobs need to get done.”

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

“Volunteering is a way for me to get out and about.   It helps make the days go by faster.  Volunteering really gets me working hard, and I think that’s a good thing.”

 Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

“I have been working at the Kinsman Centre for quite some time now.  When I am there, I am usually working in production.”

 What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“I love visiting with my parents, brothers and sisters.  I am involved in Sports for Special Athletes.  With that group, I play mini golf in the summers, and I am involved in a bowling league when it gets colder out.  I also sometimes go to the movies on the weekends with the group home that I live at.”

It was great to get to know a little more about you, Devin!  Good luck with your bowling season!

Tags:

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight: Devin”

  1. Keep Paying It Forward In 2016 | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] Devin made this point about his time at the Food Hamper Program: […]

Leave a Reply

