Volunteer Spotlight: Carola

by

Carola has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program for almost 15 years, giving almost 4000 hours of her time.  In the past year alone, she has volunteered 180 hours!  Carola’s gift of time and energy has not gone unnoticed.  It was a joy to have the opportunity to get to know Carola a little bit better.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“It’s a funny thing really.  When I first moved into this neighbourhood, I saw people walking with boxes of food, and I naturally got curious.  Where is all this food coming from?  I decided to find out for myself by paying a visit to the EFHP.  I applied to become a volunteer that day, and I have been here ever since!”

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

“I really look forward to spending time with the people that have become like family to me.  I also like that I am able to get out and do something in the community.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“My favourite job here is sorting and folding the donated clothing.  We get just about anything!  I also used to really enjoy going through the toys.  That gave me a chance to play with toys that I never had when I was growing up.”

How has volunteering impacted your life?

“The House of Friendship helped us when we first came to Canada from Germany 54 years ago.  I wanted to give back for all that the House of Friendship did for my family.”

Where did you used to work?

“I used to work at the Red Cross for many years doing home care visits.  I also have worked in the kitchen at the Alpine Club.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“I love to be in the kitchen, whether it be cooking or baking, I love it all.  My favourite recipe to make is a black forest torte, which is a very rich, chocolaty dessert.  I also enjoy sewing, knitting and crocheting.  In my ‘spare’ time, I like to work on crossword puzzles and work in my garden.  I also love any time that I get to spend with my three children and three grandchildren.”

Carola was kind enough to share her Black Forest Torte with us, enjoy! 

 
She promised that she would make this dessert for the volunteers and staff at the EFHP when she reaches her 15 year anniversary of volunteering here!  We won’t forget that promise!  Thanks for all the time that you have contributed to the Emergency Food Hamper Program!   
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

