Volunteer Spotlight: Holly

by

Holly has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program since May 2010.  Since that time, she has volunteered over 80 hours here.  As she packs hampers, she keeps people laughing and smiling with her animated character.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I heard about the House of Friendship through some family friends when I first moved to the area a few years ago, and thought that this program might be something that I would like to get involved with.”

 What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

“I enjoy the interactions that I have with the hamper recipients.  I also love getting to know the other volunteers here, like Bob and Brian.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“My favourite job here is packing the hampers because of those opportunities I get to interact with the people coming in to get food.”

How has volunteering impacted your life?

“Volunteering has given me a better appreciation for others less fortunate.  It gives me more of a perspective on the need that exists in our community.  Before volunteering here, I wasn’t aware of how many people were receiving food assistance in the community.  It has really opened my eyes.”

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

“I volunteer on a weekly basis at the Canadian Mental Health Association as a crisis/distress line volunteer.  On occasion, I volunteer at Sunnydale community centre.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“What don’t I like doing?!  I enjoy travelling and experiencing new things.  I also love movies, especially the ‘rom coms’ (romantic comedies).  I guess you can say that I am a ‘utilizer’ of Netflix.  I love to hang out with my gals and make dog voices on occasion.”

Thanks Holly for sitting down to chat for a few minutes about what keeps you busy outside of volunteering here! 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

