Volunteer Spotlight: Paul

by

Paul has been faithfully volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program twice a week for over ten years now.  Over these years, he has volunteered over 1600 hours, with 170 of those hours being in 2011 alone.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I can’t even remember.  It feels like I have always been coming here.”

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

“I enjoy coming in to see my friends that I have made here.  I especially like to see my buddies, Rupert and Salvador.”

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I love bagging the potatoes.  That is what I am used to doing.  Sometimes I do other jobs here, like stocking the shelves, but bagging potatoes is my favourite job.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

“I like volunteering because it gives me something to do.  It gets me out and about.”

 What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t volunteering?

“I like to watch baseball.  My favourite baseball team is the Toronto Blue Jays.  I love to listen to heavy metal, like Alice Cooper, KISS and ACDC.  I also enjoy bowling and visiting with friends.”

Thanks Paul for letting me visit with you while you bagged all those potatoes!  We really appreciate the commitment that you have made to the EFHP!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

