Volunteer Spotlight: Brian

by

I asked Brian if I could do a volunteer spotlight on him, and little did I know that he would prepare his own set of notes for our chat!  Brian has been volunteering at the EFHP for over 4 years now, devoting 670 hours to the program thus far.  In this year alone, he has volunteered over 150 hours!  Here’s what Brian had to say:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“When I was in a difficult situation, I stayed at one of House of Friendship’s programs for a few days.  That is where I heard about the Emergency Food Hamper Program, and that they needed volunteers to help in the warehouse.  I have been coming on a weekly basis ever since.”

 What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

“I enjoy the people that I get to interact with here.  I like that I am able to get out of the apartment, and that I am doing something meaningful.  It gives me a sense of satisfaction knowing that what I am doing is helping others.”

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I enjoy a lot of jobs here.  My specialty seems to be bagging the bulk rice.  I used to work in the cooler, but I prefer working with the rice.”

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

“Volunteering has made me feel more secure within myself.  It is a nice outlet for me.  It keeps me busy doing things that I have grown to love doing.  I have the opportunity to meet lots of different people who are coming from all walks of life to volunteer here.”

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

“I used to volunteer with the Kinsmen Club, usually helping to run the charity bingo that the club would put on.”

 What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“Over the past few years, I have really gotten into music again.  I have developed a habit of playing my acoustic guitar on a daily basis.  When my friends come to visit, we always seem to make time to jam together.  I have an eclectic taste in music, and enjoy the variety that I hear on CBC Radio 2.  I do a lot of walking.  I also visit the Kitchener Public Library on almost daily to read the newspaper and do some daydreaming.”

Thanks Brian for taking a moment to share with us about what has kept you coming back here week after week!  Your lively personality keeps us entertained with each story that you tell.  You really keep us on our toes! 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

