Volunteer Spotlight: Leonard

by

Leonard has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper program since January 2010, giving over 250 hours of his time.  In 2011 alone, Leonard has already volunteered 90 hours!  Leonard has such a willingness about him, helping with whatever is needed in the warehouse.  Thanks for your continued commitment to the EFHP, Leonard!

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

“I heard about House of Friendship through someone I knew through my doctor.  That guy had volunteered at the Emergency Food Hamper before, and recommended that I give it a try.”

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

“I love it here.  I look forward to coming here every week.  I love knowing that what I am doing here is helping people who are in need in our community.  It makes my day.  The people that volunteer here are all unique in their own ways, and I have enjoyed getting to know them.”

What’s your favourite job at our program?

“I can usually be found stocking the shelves in the warehouse, but I like to help with other odd jobs.  I am really used to stocking the shelves, I know where everything goes.  It took a while to figure where everything went, that’s for sure!”

How has volunteering impacted your life?

“Volunteering is very important to me.  It just seems normal to me.  I am so happy that all four of my children are now actively volunteering at different organizations.  I guess you could say it is in our blood!”

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

“I am retired now, so I have more time for volunteering.  I volunteer at the hospital, helping people find where they need to go.  I also volunteer at the Salvation Army, sorting through the clothing and other donated items.  On occasion, I volunteer at the Red Cross, helping to package supplies to be sent overseas.”

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

“I love to spend time with my grandchildren.  I also enjoy playing cricket and soccer for fun.  I get a lot of joy from travelling to new places.  Some of my favourite places I have travelled are Europe and Asia.  I would love to live in Europe.  A few years ago, I was able to travel to five different countries in Europe.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

