Volunteer Spotlight: Amy

by

Amy has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper program since the beginning of October.  She is up for any task that is thrown her way, whether it be bagging bulk food items or packing the hampers, she’s game!  Here is what Amy had to say about her time here so far:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I was looking for a place to volunteer, so I googled ‘volunteering’ and House of Friendship (HOF) popped up.  I had heard about HOF before, but I wasn’t sure what all the organization did.

 What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I like all the people that I get to meet here, while packing hampers or working in the warehouse.  I also just like helping in general.  It feels good to do something like this.

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job would have to be packing the hampers.  It is nice to be able to hand that food off to people that really need it.  I also really like to see what goes into the hampers.  Every time that I volunteer, there are always different things that go into a hamper.

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has really opened my eyes up to the different situations that people are in.  It has also given me a glimpse of the needs exists within our community.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I am currently volunteering once a week at a program run by Christian Horizons called Circles Café.  Circles Café is an art program.  I just completed a graphic design program atFanshaweCollegeinLondon, so this is good experience for me as I look for something in my field.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

In my spare time, I enjoy playing the guitar.  I started taking guitar lessons about two years ago, and I just recently stopped taking them.  I am still learning to play the guitar, but I like to play all kinds of music.  I also am really into fitness and graphic design.  I love to watch all kinds of movies, from comedy, to romance and even thrillers.  I am movie lover for sure!

Thanks Amy for taking some time to let us get to know you a little bit better!  Your hard work here at the EFHP is much appreciated!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

