Volunteer Spotlight: Dean

by

Dean has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program since April 2011, giving over 110 hours of his time!  Dean is always willing to complete any task that is thrown his way.  We have certainly appreciated all his hard work in the warehouse over this past year!  

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I heard about House of Friendship through my wife, Tiffany.  She used to volunteer at the Emergency Food Hamper and she encouraged me to get involved.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I like the fact that I can work at my own pace here.  I don’t have to worry about completing a certain number by a certain time; I just work until its time to go home.  It’s so refreshing!

 What’s your favourite job at our program?

I am not sure that I have a favourite job here.  There is so much variety in the work that I do here with something different for me every time I come in.  I sort and bag anything from mushrooms to diapers.  It is kind of exciting to come in and see what I will be working on.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

I find that volunteering is a rewarding experience for me.  I feel like I am making a difference in my own way.  At the food hamper program, you can really see that you are accomplishing something.  The food comes in and we are able to sort through it and put together many hampers for people in need in our community.  I like being a part of such a great program like this.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

For almost a year now, I have been volunteering three days a week at Generations Thrift Store in Waterloo.  When I am there, I help out by pricing the items that have been received.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

When I am not volunteering, I enjoy spending as much time with my family as possible.  I also love watching television shows like CSI and Law and Order.  I also enjoy playing games on the computer like Solitaire.

Thanks for taking some time to let us get to know you a little bit better! 

Tags: ,

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight: Dean”

  1. Keep Paying It Forward In 2016 | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] Dean wanted to make this point when asked about his experience volunteering in the warehouse: […]

Leave a Reply

