Volunteer Spotlight: Jessie

by

Jessie has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper program since September 2011, but involved with House of Friendship for some time.  To date, Jessie has volunteered over 45 hours to the Food Hamper Program.  Jessie was a summer student at the EFHP, and we are so thankful that Jessie decided to become a volunteer after the placement came to an end.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I worked at the Emergency Food Hamper Program as a summer student in 2011.  In that position, I helped with intake, packing food hampers and going with one of the drivers to pick-up food donations.  It was this experience that encouraged me to continue my involvement with House of Friendship.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I really enjoy coming in and helping out wherever I can.  I just love helping people, and seeing them smile when they get their food hampers.  I also like coming in to see the staff and volunteers that I have gotten to know over the past several months.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job is packing the food hampers.  I like to see what goes into a food hamper on a given day.  I especially like to see what desserts are going into the hampers because I’ve got a real sweet tooth.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Just seeing how many people come in for food has made me aware of the need that exists in our community.  I have also found that I have become more food aware in the sense that I really try to not waste the food that I have.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I volunteer at a few different places in Kitchener Waterloo.  I am involved with Community Justice Initiatives, where I go into the Grand Valley Institution for Women to help with some activities there.  I also do some talks with the women who are going to be moving back into the community.

For the past four years, I have been involved at the Canadian Mental Health Association, working one-on-one with someone.  I also spend some time at Ray of Hope, acting as a mentor to the youth there.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I am in the midst of completing my undergraduate degree at the University of Waterloo in Criminology and Sociology.  In my spare time, I love to catch up on all of the television shows I watch.  I love to eat sweets, especially anything chocolaty.  I also try to spend as much time with my friends and family as possible.

Thanks for sharing with us, Jessie!  We are glad that you can fit us into your busy weekly schedule!   

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

