Volunteer Spotlight: Martin

by

Martin has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program (EFHP) for just over a year now, giving over 90 hours of his time to this food assistance program.  Martin is passionate about food, and this program seems to be a natural fit for him.  It was great to take a few moments to get to know Martin and what he does when he is not volunteering at the EFHP. 

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I was looking to do some volunteering in K-W and I read about House of Friendship on the Volunteer Action Centre’s website.  I thought it would be a good fit for me since I currently work at the Loblaw’s distribution centre in Cambridge.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I find that since I began volunteering I get more value from myself.  I find myself utilizing my days a lot better.  I don’t work until 3:00 pm, so coming here in the morning keeps me active.  I find so much value from volunteering here; not only am I keeping busy with something to do, I am also able to help people who are in need of food assistance in our community.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

I enjoy stocking the shelves.  I like this because I can just come in and get started.  I don’t need to be told what to do; I just do it.  I find that everyone works together here as a team.  If I ever have any questions, I don’t hesitate to ask for clarification.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

I have found that having something to do with my mornings has given me more motivation to keep active when I am not working.  As a result of volunteering and working with food, I have become increasingly interested in gardening.  This summer, I am starting a garden with a friend of mine.  I have a tray of 204 seedlings that I will plant at the garden.  I am excited about this opportunity!

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

The gardening project that I have undertaken will be keeping me quite busy in the coming months.  I am also working with the Program Coordinator at the EFHP to start a compost program.  With this project, I am visiting a number of farms in the area to see how they are composting.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I enjoy being active and outdoors.  I like biking, skiing, gardening and camping.  I did a lot of camping last year at some of the GRCA parks, and I plan to explore some of the parks in the Halton Hills area this summer.  I am also looking into spending a week volunteering at a farm near Listowel.  I find that I learn the most from face-to-face interactions with people, and not from just doing an internet search.

It sounds like you have some exciting adventures ahead of you!  Thanks for your ongoing commitment to the Emergency Food Hamper Program.  We are looking forward to the design and implementation of the compost program here!   

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

