Volunteer Spotlight: Kristina

by

Kristina has been volunteering here since April 2010, giving over 80 hours of her time.  During this time, Kristina has gone on a few great adventures to countries around the world, but we are always glad when she returns to volunteer with us!  Kristina always has a smile to share with the people that she is working with and the people that she is packing hampers for.  Here’s what she had to say about her experience volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I can remember my friend, Beth, telling me about how much she enjoyed volunteering with House of Friendship.  She asked me to come with her to check it out, and I have been coming ever since.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I think I enjoy the interactions that I am able to have with the other volunteers and the people that are coming in for food assistance.  It has been great to get to know some of the regular volunteers who I get to spend time with on a weekly basis.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job is definitely packing the hampers.  I like seeing what is going into the food hampers each week, and also getting a chance to interact with the food hamper recipients.  It makes it all worthwhile.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has given me an area that I am able to give of myself, and to help others along the way. It has also made me feel  like I am being useful with my time.  This is also a practical way for me to help people in need in our community.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

Currently I am not volunteering anywhere else because I am in the midst of a Developmental Services Worker program through Fanshawe College, and it requires me to complete work placements for the program.  I am also working a variety of shifts at the Elmira Association for Community Living, so that consumes quite a bit of my time!

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I like to travel and to check out the music events and festivals happening in our area.  I also like to bike and hike, and to take day trips here and there.  I met my husband, Nitin, on a trip to India where he is from, and ever since he moved to Canada it has been great to go on adventures with him.

Thank you Kristina for sharing with us!  I am glad you decided to come with me three years ago to volunteer at the EFHP.  It has been great having you and Nitin volunteering with us!   

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

