Wishing it was just a dream

by

From time-to-time my coworkers and I become a listening ear for someone in a crisis. Sometimes we can direct people to other resources for help; but sometimes people just need someone to vent to. This is exactly the case for Jessica. Jessica is coming for a food hamper after experiencing a situation that she never imagined being faced with.

When I woke up today and looked around my house I pinched myself. This had to be a bad dream that I’d wake up from. I even tried going back to bed to convince myself that this couldn’t be real. My partner left a note saying it was over. And then I noticed that all the food in our fridge and cupboards, and a few other things were gone. How could he just leave me like this? And why did he take everything? We can’t live without food. Sometime in the middle of the night he left and took everything with him. Sure I have a full-time job but we live pay cheque to pay cheque – where am I going to get the money to buy everything back that he’s taken? He didn’t have a steady job but he kicked in money towards the bills here and there, which was always enough to get us by. Now I’ll probably have to cancel my internet and home phone because I doubt I’ll be able to afford them anymore. And I’m already thinking about the possibility of moving to something cheaper. I’ve got a million thoughts going through my mind that I’m not even sure where to start!

Coming here was a step in the right direction. Though it definitely wasn’t an easy choice, we can give her some options. Wait – let me rephrase that: give you more options, because you’re not dreaming either – this is your story.

The first thing you check is your bank account. You remember giving him your debit card to get groceries a few days ago when you were too tired to go after work. Did he give you the card back? Did he take out any money on top of the cost of all the groceries? You never thought to worry about anything like that because you felt like the relationship was going well. Unfortunately you were in for a surprise.

You waited so long to move in together because you wanted to know that you could both afford an apartment together and that he was a good fit for your kids. For a few months it was a great decision but now you’re kids are wondering where all the stuff went and when they’ll see him again.

But this is just the tip of the iceberg. Like Jessica, I’m sure your mind would be racing a mile a minute through all these thoughts. You can start by referrals through friends and families to get connected to immediate supports such as food banks. Then from there you’ll hope they can refer you to social service agencies or thrift stores that can help you obtain all the items that your ex took from you. And each day you go through this difficult transition I’m sure you’d continue hoping that this is still a bad dream that you’ll eventually wake up from. Luckily for you, this situation will end when you close this blog, but Jessica continues to stay awake through these struggles.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

