Volunteer Spotlight: Ursula

by

Ursula has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program since April, giving over 35 hours of her time to the program.  Ursula volunteers alongside two of her children each week, making Mondays a family affair at 807 Guelph Street.  We have loved getting to know Ursula in the past few months, and look forward to many more laughs together! 

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I first heard about House of Friendship through my daughter, Connie (see her spotlight here).  She has been volunteering here for over seven years now and it sounded like it was something that I would like to be involved in.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I like volunteering at the EFHP because it is something that gets me out of my home and helping people in need.  It is wonderful to be able to volunteer alongside two of my children and to meet all of the volunteeers at the program.

Since my husband passed away earlier this year, I have been quite lonely at home.  Before I had my husband to care for, but now I don’t, so volunteering has been a good way for me to keep busy.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job at Food Hampers is bagging the fruit, but I am up certainly up for whatever comes my way.  I like it all!

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has given me something meaningful to do.  At home, I just sit and watch TV.  This volunteer position has given me a sense of purpose.

 Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I haven’t volunteered with any other programs in the area.  I used to work at Dare Foods, packing cookies on the line.  It has been great to reconnect at the EFHP with a former co-worker, Sharron, who also volunteers here.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I like to read all different types of books, ranging from biographies to books about nature and animals.  My love for animals has me regularly watching Animal Planet on T.V.  Family is very important to me, so I love time spent with my 10 children, 21 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren.

Thanks Ursula for taking the time to share a little bit about yourself with us!  We appreciate all your hard work bagging whatever bulk food items we bring your way. 

Tags: ,

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight: Ursula”

  1. Volunteer Spotlight: Mark G. | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] really enjoy working with Matt, Raymond, Jesse, Wanda, Candace, Val, Rolf, Oscar, Pickles, Connie, Ursula, Daniel, and whole bunch of others! All these people form a community doing good work, which is […]

Leave a Reply

