Volunteer Spotlight: Sharron

by

Sharron has been volunteering here since October 2008, giving over 600 hours of her time!  When Sharron is here, you can always find her bagging bulk food items.  She is always up for whatever we send her way!  We really do value the commitment of volunteers like Sharron at the EFHP.  Here’s what Sharron had to say about her experience as a volunteer at the EFHP:      

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I think I first heard about House of Friendship’s Emergency Food Hamper Program through a newsletter I received in the mail after having given a donation to the Charles Street Men’s Hostel.  There was something about the EFHP in it, and it sparked my interest.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I enjoy the social aspect that volunteering at the EFHP offers me.  It gets me out of the house and doing something that is able to help so many people in the community.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job at the Food Hamper program is bagging fruits and vegetables.  I have a wonderful ‘boss’ here, and he certainly keeps me busy.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering at the EFHP has given me a greater knowledge of the world of fruits and vegetables.  Volunteering has also shown me the needs that exist in Kitchener-Waterloo.  I love that a program like Food Hampers is able to help the whole family, pets included!

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

Before the EFHP, I hadn’t volunteered anywhere else.  I used to work at Dare Foods with another volunteer at the EFHP, Ursula, and it has been great to be able to work alongside her again!

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

In my spare time, I enjoy reading all different kinds of books.  I love animals, so T.V. channels like Animal Planet really interest me.  I also enjoy being outside and going on walks.  Family is very important to me.  I have a son and a daughter and we get together at least once a week for a family meal.  I always look forward to visits with my son’s dog, Libby too!

Thanks for taking time to share with us Sharron! 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

