Volunteer Spotlight: Candace

by

Candace has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program since April 2012, giving over 100 hours of her time!  In the months that she has been volunteering, Candace has shown us that she is up for anything here.  We have really appreciated her willingness to assist new volunteers as they navigate the world of hamper packing.  Here is what Candace had to say about her experience volunteering with us. 

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I used to come into the Emergency Food Hamper Program for assistance with food for myself so I was familiar with the types of things that House of Friendship did.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

What don’t I enjoy about volunteering here?  I enjoy making a difference in the lives of the people that come in for food hampers.  I enjoy the staff and volunteers that I get the opportunity to work with.  All in all, I enjoy it all.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

I have two favourite jobs at the EFHP.  I love packing hampers.  When I get the food slip that tells me what the person and the people in their household would like, I try to keep them in mind as I pack their hamper.  The food slip tells me the age range of the people in a household.  I am a mother myself, so if I see that there are kids in the family, I try and pick out things that I think they would like.

My second favourite job here is sorting through the baby items that we put in hampers like diapers and formula for families with young children.  It can be seen as a small part of the program, but I know it makes such a difference in the lives of those families receiving some extra help with things for their babies.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has definitely positively impacted my life.  This gives me a great sense of worth.  Before I started volunteering here, I felt useless in a lot of ways, but now I feel like I am making a positive impact in my community.  I have something called GAD, which stands for ‘Generalized Anxiety Disorder’.  With this anxiety disorder, I feel a real lack of control over the way I feel.  Volunteering here has given me back a sense of control that I have been missing for a long time now.  In the past, when I had to come here for a food hamper, I can remember my anxiety levels being high because those situations would be very difficult for me to deal with.  I am now on the other side of things, and I have regained the sense of control that I had been missing for quite a while.  Volunteering has been like cheap therapy for me!

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I am not volunteering anywhere else right now.  I was previously involved with a number of different programs in the area, but because of some personal things, I needed to step back for a while.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I spend a lot of time with my daughter and my friend’s children.  I have a patio garden with lots of vegetables that I love to try cooking new things with.  I also really look forward to making my preserves each year.  I just completed my patch of strawberry jam, and will start to work on other fruit jams soon!  I also love reading all types of genres.  You name it, I’ll read it!

Thanks Candace for sharing with us!  It was great to have the opportunity to get to know a little bit more about what keeps you coming back week after week. 

Tags:

3 Responses to “Volunteer Spotlight: Candace”

  1. National Volunteer Week: how our volunteers build community | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] and clients.” Sandy said, “because the volunteers here are like my second family.” Candace said, “I think I’m addicted! I love the people and the work, it makes me feel useful and […]

  2. Everybody eats…. potato soup! | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] recipe comes courtesy of Candace. Since bacon was the meat in a one person hamper, Potato and Bacon Chowder seemed like a great […]

  3. Volunteer Spotlight: Mark G. | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] with other volunteers and staff here. I really enjoy working with Matt, Raymond, Jesse, Wanda, Candace, Val, Rolf, Oscar, Pickles, Connie, Ursula, Daniel, and whole bunch of others! All these people […]

Leave a Reply

