Volunteer Spotlight: Chloe

by

Chloe has been volunteering with us since January 2012.  Since starting here, she has given over 95 hours of her time.  Chloe has proven to be quite flexible, coming in at short notice to help fill-in if needed.  It has been great for us to get to know Chloe over the past 7 months, and we look forward to many more with her!   

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I heard about House of Friendship through the Volunteer Action Centre.  There was a posting for volunteer opportunities with House of Friendship’s Christmas Hamper Program that had already been filled and so they directed me to the Emergency Food Hamper Program.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I enjoy meeting the people that are coming in for assistance with food, and getting to know the staff and volunteers.  I also really love to see how organized it is here.  I guess you could call me an organized person, so I love things like that.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job is packing food hampers.  I like organizing the food items so they fit perfectly into the boxes.  It also gives me an opportunity to interact with the people coming in for food hampers.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program has helped me to realize what I want to do with my schooling.  I was in a music therapy program at Acadia University in Nova Scotia for two years, but decided that I wanted something different.  I am excited about this upcoming school year where I will be in the Social Development Studies program at the University of Waterloo.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

Besides the mandatory 40 hours that you have to complete in high school, I had never really volunteered anywhere before the Emergency Food Hamper Program.  I just recently started volunteering at the Queen Street Commons.  I love the fast-paced environment that it offers me.  When I am there, I help in the kitchen with food preparations.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I love to listen to all types of music (except for country), and to watch all different kinds of movies.  I also love to hang out with awesome people that I call my friends.  Making sure I have everything ready for the start of school has also become an activity of mine.

Thanks Chloe for sharing with us!  Good luck to you as you begin your new program at the University of Waterloo.   

Tags:

Leave a Reply

