Volunteer Spotlight: Nanci

by

Beth and Nanci

Nanci has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program since January 2012.  To date, she has given over 120 hours of her time!  Nanci has such a fun-loving personality and really has a heart for people.  Here is a little bit about Nanci:

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I had heard about House of Friendship a number of years ago through a friend, and ever since then I wanted to get involved.  This past December, I helped out  at House of Friendship’s Christmas Hamper program and just loved it.  I am looking forward to helping out again this year.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

What I like most about volunteering here is the fact that I am able to give back to the community.  It’s a good feeling.  I also really enjoy all the people that I get to interact with when I am volunteering, including the staff and volunteers.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

My favourite job is packing food hampers.  I’m a ‘foody’ who loves to feed people.  I try to make it personal when I am packing the hampers.  I really do my best to treat them like they were someone I know.  When I see they have children, I think about what my children would have wanted at that age.  I also pay careful attention to the special diets and the ages of the people in the household.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has impacted me in many ways.  I have become more comfortable in areas that I had little experience with in the past.  Volunteering has also given me patience.  I have to respect and appreciate that everyone works differently, and that I can learn from other people.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I used to volunteer at Ray of Hope, helping in the kitchen.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I love to be active by working out and going for walks.  I enjoy travelling.  I am going out to British Columbia to visit with my son and his family soon.  Family is very important to me, and I like to spend as much time with them as possible.  I also love to designing and decorating my house and cooking for other people.

Thank you Nanci for taking some time to tell us about yourself!  It has been fun getting to know you! 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

