Volunteer Spotlight: Wanda

by

Wanda has been volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program since January 2012, giving over 70 hours of her time.  Wanda is such a positive person who brings so much energy to this program.  It has been so much fun getting to know Wanda since she started volunteering here.  Here is what Wanda had to say about her time spent volunteering at the EFHP.   

 How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I used to volunteer at Chandler Mowat Community Centre.  I helped with a number of different programs there.  I really enjoyed working with the teens at the ‘After 4’ program.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I enjoy helping the community, and feeling like I am giving back in my own way.  I also really love the people that I have met here.  I see everyone here as being a part of one big happy family.  I guess you could say that they are all my sisters and brothers from another mother!  Volunteering at the EFHP is also a great escape for me, to get away from my daily schedule.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

I am happy doing whatever is needed.  Usually I am packing hampers, but I like bagging the bulk food items as well.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has brought so much happiness into my life.  I leave here knowing that I have made a positive difference in my community.  Volunteering just gives me such a good feeling.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

Currently I am not volunteering anywhere else.  I am not longer living near the community centre that I used to volunteer at, so that is why I started volunteering at the food hamper program.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I love music!  I play the drums and so I like to make time to play them as much as possible.  I also really enjoy going to live concerts and participating in multicultural events that are held in the community.  I love spending time with my friends.  Nancy, a fellow volunteer, and I have become quite close since we both started volunteering at the Emergency Food Hamper Program.

Thank you, Wanda for sharing!  We have really enjoyed getting to know your fun personality. 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

