Volunteer Spotlight: Iris

by

Iris photo

Iris is a Bachelor of Social Work placement student along with Rana and is here to the end of June. I took a quick opportunity to chat with her and find out more about someone who is going to be here for a while. She and her husband have been in the K-W area for over two years now and are from Fergus and Hamilton respectively. She’s willing to do anything we throw her way, from learning intake, to packing hampers, to other warehouse jobs. She and Rana are both doing the ten month Bachelor of Social work through the University of Waterloo. She has been a quick study and is picking up a lot!

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I found out about the House of Friendship through the University of Waterloo placement fair. The House of Friendship was one of two placements I was offered and I chose the House of Friendship because of the variety of services offered and how long it has been around for. It’s pretty amazing that the House of Friendship has been around since 1939.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I enjoy meeting all the volunteers and staff members. This has been a great place to learn about the face of poverty in Waterloo region.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

I really enjoy doing intake and finding out about the needs of the program participants. I like learning about the need for Emergency food services.

 How has volunteering impacted your life?

It affected about my perceptions of need. I didn’t realize how much need there was in the community. It really made me appreciate what supports I have.

Are there any other programs that your or have volunteered with?

I’m at the Kingsdale community centre. I also work in the food distribution program there, participate in groups and am involved in community outreach as well.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I enjoy watching movies, especially documentaries. Right now I’m watching Being Elmo. I also cycle and go cross country skiing in the winter. I love to travel and experience new cultures.

Thanks so much Iris for taking a moment out of busy schedule to chat with me. It was really nice to find out more about you, since you’re here every Wednesday. We really appreciate all your hard work and dedication to the Emergency Food Hamper Program. We also appreciate your willingness to learn and get your hands dirty.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

