Volunteer Spotlight: Sarah K.

by

 

Two great volunteers! Holly (left) and Sarah (right).

Two great volunteers! Holly (left) and Sarah (right).

 

Sarah K. has been volunteering here since February 2012, and was a summer student this year at the front desk. She’s a great person to have around because she’s always calm and considerate with people who come in. It was great to get to know her this summer, and we’re thankful she’s staying on to volunteer, even as a university student with a busy schedule. Other facts about Sarah are that she’s currently studying Music Therapy at Wilfrid Laurier University, plays the cello, and is originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba.

How did you hear about the House of Friendship?

I heard about House of Friendship from a friend of mine while I was looking for a job a few years back. Then I had the opportunity to do a student placement at the Emergency Food Hamper Program (EFHP) and I jumped at the chance.

What do you enjoy about volunteering here?

I enjoy the family atmosphere At the Emergency Food hamper program. At the EFHP, I can be myself and serve other people in the process.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

I really love the variety of people I can help and work with. I especially love packing hampers because it is concrete and simple, yet very satisfying and personal.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

Volunteering has allowed me to have some time in the week that is for me, as well as for others. I come to volunteer because I love doing it.

Are there any other places you have volunteered?

I volunteered in a classroom at Lutherwood on Benjamin Road for a term.

What hobbies and interests do you enjoy in your spare time?

When I am not volunteering I am studying Music Therapy and playing cello. I try my best to fit in a little painting, sewing, or baking whenever I can.

Thanks Sarah for sharing with us and we’re so happy that you choose to spend your time so generously with us. You are such a positive person to have at the Emergency Food Hamper Program!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

