Volunteer Spotlight: Rolf W.

by

Rolf W.

Rolf has been volunteering packing hampers for just over 7 years now, and showing no signs of slowing down. He comes in every Monday and even though he works hard the whole time, somehow manages to finish the entire crossword puzzle in the break room without anyone noticing. It was great to sit down with one of our long time regular volunteers.

How did you hear about House of Friendship?

I heard about it through the YMCA, where I volunteered for a long time. A few people I knew from there were very involved with the House of Friendship, so I decided to give it a try.

What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I enjoy it very much—it gives me a sense of feeling I’m contributing in some small way to people who need help. I enjoy working with my fellow volunteers, they all have a great sense of humour. After volunteering here I feel a great sense of accomplishment.

What’s your favourite job at our program?

I like packing hampers, it keeps me busy. The quotas change all the time so it really keeps me on my toes. I like helping in other areas when it’s slow too, like packing meat. I enjoy that volunteering here is very hands on.

How has volunteering impacted your life?

I’m retired, so it’s given me an opportunity to get involved with people outside of sports and leisure.

Is there one experience of helping here that sticks out in your mind?

I remember once a young girl was by herself getting a hamper. She was in tears because she hadn’t been here before and she felt like she was taking advantage. I had to explain that our service is available to her for when she needs it, and I tried to encourage her. I’ll always remember that she left with a smile.

Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I volunteered with the YMCA for 20 years at the front desk mostly. I was also on their advisory council.

What kind of activities or hobbies do you enjoy when you aren’t working or volunteering?

I love golfing and travelling to different countries. The best place I’ve been is Santorini in Greece. I also like doing crosswords and Sudoku. I’ve collected coins since I was 12 years old. At home my partner and I love hiking—we’ve done almost half of the Bruce Trail started in the Niagara area.

I appreciate Rolf taking the time to share a bit about himself and why he has been coming here for so long. It’s great that we have dedicated volunteers to make life a little bit easier for those who come in for food. Thanks Rolf!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Volunteer Spotlight: Rolf W.”

  1. Volunteer Spotlight: Mark G. | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] volunteers and staff here. I really enjoy working with Matt, Raymond, Jesse, Wanda, Candace, Val, Rolf, Oscar, Pickles, Connie, Ursula, Daniel, and whole bunch of others! All these people form a […]

Leave a Reply

