We Need to Support Local Artists #12daysforgood

by

12 days for good creativity

 

Day 4 of 12 Days for Good: Creativity

by Wendi Campbell, Executive Director of the Food Bank of Waterloo Region.

Things that people may not know about me – I am crafty and creative.  When I have the time I’ve been known to sew a pillow, I love to arrange fresh flowers, and will someday finish decorating our house.  I like homemade and the effort that goes into creating something from scratch.  One of my favourite things to do is find unique local art for gifts and for our home.  When we travel we try to find something locally crafted to remember our trip.  For gifts I often find myself at the Clay and Glass Gallery picking up glass, pottery, jewellery or cards.  I love the Waterloo Potters Workshop– not just because of a fabulous fundraiser they run for the Food Bank (Empty Bowls – May 2015) but because I can serve soup in something that was made in my community.

Today I share my passion for local art and will be making a donation to the Creative Enterprise Initiative (CEI). CEI is working hard to bring investment and recognition to our community, through the investment of time, money and professional skills in creative endeavours and small to mid-sized creative organizations that are ready to take their work to the next level. It is this approach to creative placemaking that will benefit our entire community.

not made in china

A vibrant community includes traditionally defined arts and culture and we need to support local artists – help them to become sustainable through their work – let a pillar of our economic development and success be support of a vibrant arts and culture scene.  Check out the website www.GrandSocial.ca as an example of the work that Creative Enterprise is doing in our community to support the development of the essential community pillar and then check out some of the fabulous art organizations, artists, galleries and think about how you can incorporate into your holiday giving.

You can follow Wendi’s good deeds and creativity on Twitter

Creativity doesn’t wait for that perfect moment, it fashions its own perfect moments out of ordinary ones << TWEET THIS

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

