Finding Hope in Pyjamas #12daysforgood

by

12 days for good hope

February 20th 1999. I still remember the day. I had spent hours being verbally assaulted by my intoxicated mother. As she often did, she became extremely physically abusive; but unlike any of the times before, on that day I gathered strength and courage…. and I ran. I went out the door of the rundown place we were living for the week with just the clothes on my back. I still remember the dark skies, snow lightly falling, and the cold wind biting at me through my sweater as I ran. I knew in that moment I was going to be free of that life, that I would never turn back.

A few days later, on my 15th birthday, I was brought to my first foster home still wearing the same clothes that I left with. I remember being taken shopping for necessities, but what stands out most were three things: warm socks, a new sweater to replace the one I was wearing, and new pyjama’s. The feeling I had putting on those fresh pyjamas was something I hadn’t experienced in so long: safety, comfort and even HOPE.

15 years later, I’ve committed a lot of my life to working with youth in care, AND I’m surrounded by pyjamas!

12 days for good hope

After seeing a screening of Red Light Green Light– a documentary on human and sex trafficking- I was able to learn more about an organization called Walk With Me and their emergency safe house for victims. From that, and my own experience of having to start fresh with just the clothes on my back, I came up with the idea of collecting pyjamas for women escaping trafficking. My hope was that when women enter a safe house or shelter they would not only be welcomed by a safe bed to sleep in, but a warm set of pyjamas to help them to start their first night of freedom feeling safety, comfort, and most importantly, a sense of hope.

4 weeks into the campaign I’ve collected over 200 pyjamas! With the help of some amazing community members, I held a pyjama party for the community to come and learn more about human trafficking and drop off donated pyjamas. It has left me in awe, how this wonderful community has come together and supported my small idea to make it larger than life! If anything, I’m beyond excited to know that so many others are aware and spreading the word about human trafficking and that together we can work together to bring change & hope for these victims.

If you would still like to donate a pair of pyjamas, I’m collecting until Dec. 20th. They can be dropped off any Waterloo Regional Police Station or The Family Centre at 65 Hansen Ave. Kitchener.

If you would like to know more about human trafficking & ways to help spread the word, tweet me at @MConeybeare!

15 years ago, as I was running down that snowy street away from an abusive and unstable home with just the clothes on my back, I had no idea I would be helping youth in care or victims of trafficking. But I do know I had sense of hope, and with that anything is possible.

It is often in the darkest skies that we see the brightest stars. << TWEET THIS

You can also read: Collecting pyjamas for victims of human trafficking via Waterloo Region Record

 

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Finding Hope in Pyjamas #12daysforgood”

  1. Matt Cooper Says:

    Thank you for sharing this amazing story of hope and for all your work to raise awareness of this important cause!

  2. Meaghan Coneybeare Says:

    Thanks Matt! Appreciate your words of encouragement!

  3. Charity, Solidarity, and the Holiday Season, part three | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] Coneybeare wrote about hope, specifically about Finding Hope in Pyjamas. After watching a documentary on human trafficking that resonated with her own life experiences, […]

Leave a Reply

