Volunteer profile: Norm

by

Norm has volunteered at the food hamper program for over four years. He is kind and soft spoken, and his faith and his determination to better our community is truly inspirational. Your contributions have been noticed and are appreciated by many. Thank you Norm for all that you do, you are amazing!

Norm and Marg!

Norm and Marg!

 Why do you volunteer here? Is it important to you?

Some of the best things in our lives over the years have been volunteering. When talking about poverty one day while volunteering I was asked specifically by a 14 year old girl: What are you doing about it? My faith commitment is a major reason why I volunteer and help out in the community. This is very important to me. I feel that we should go beyond our work and go the extra mile for people.

 What do you enjoy about volunteering at the EFHP?

I like the hands on–not so much committees. A saying that speaks to me is “your faith without work is dead.” To really thrive with a faith you must also live that faith. It is about serving God, but it is also serving everyone at the same time. I find that it satisfies the conscience about actually doing something in the community to combat social issues. That being said, I also come work here because it is FUN to work here!

What’s your favourite job at our program?

Whatever needs to be done!

Are there particular reasons you chose House of Friendship?

I choose to volunteer to give back to the community because of my beliefs. If I see someone ill, hungry, in prison, I can ask myself what have I or what can I-DO about it? I saw needs in our community, and I saw that House of Friendship was working to meet some of those needs, so I decided to work with HOF.

 Is there anything you want to share with the community about House of Friendship?

House of friendships is more than what people think it is. It is difficult to work with the “less advantaged” because people only care about them on special occasions. Then they forget about them.  I truly believe that HOF is one of the most important parts of the community and plays a big, but maybe invisible role in community building. Like that phrase “80 % of population give 20% and 20% of the population give 80%. If those 20% will burn out at some point will the 80% remember the homeless when it is not Christmas? Let us hope so.

It also disturbed us that Live and Learn got cancelled We volunteered with that program as well and thought it was an amazing resource for people.

 What keeps you busy when you aren’t here? Are there any other programs that you are or have volunteered with?

I read the news paper at home, but mostly I keep busy volunteering in the community with MCC and at Thrift on Kent and Nutrition for Learning.

Do you have any favourite moments or experiences here?

Being here with staff and the volunteers is always my favourite moments. It’s all good!

 

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Volunteer profile: Norm”

  1. Elna Robertson Says:

    Norm and Marg are the embodiment of what it means to be community builders in every sense of the word. There is no judgement, only love and support offered to all. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

