Welcome Chloe and Khadija

by

We are pleased to welcome Chloe and Khadija who will be with us at the Food Hamper Program from July to August.  They sat down together early on and took some time to interview each other.  Over the summer they will be writing a series of posts to share some of their experiences, to share the perspectives of the people we serve and to pass along a few of the things that they learn during their time with us.

Khadija shared:

“Chloe France has already volunteered at the House of Friendship’s Emergency Food Hamper Program so she was ready to jump right in as my co-intern! As a fifth year student at the University of Waterloo she has kindly offered her tips and tricks for navigating successfully through not only work but also school. Her passion and keen interest in social relations keeps me excited to not only learn abundantly this summer while at the HOF but also work closely with a new friend.”

Chloe shared:

“Khadija Hamidzai is a new recruit to the Emergency Food Hamper Program making her first few days as a summer student quite an eye-opening experience! But with her purposeful attitude and vibrant personality she has taken all of her tasks in stride and has quickly meshed with the rest of the team. I am excited to watch her on her journey this summer as she continues to learn more about the people we work with and the issues we face creating experiences that she can take with her in her future career in this field.”

Chloe

What are you studying in school?

I am majoring in Social Development Studies with specializations in Social Work and Social Policy.

What do you hope to learn this summer?

I want to learn more about the people we are serving here at the House of Friendship. I am excited to have the opportunity to conduct surveys to understand these demographics better.

What is important to you?

Lots of things are important to me. Like kindness. I have been told many times that I am kind, but I’ve realized that this trait is quite complex. It takes a lot of effort to be truly kind. It takes courage and maturity, assertiveness, willpower, consistency, and an open, non-judgmental mind. It is something that I strive to be, not only to others, but to myself. All the people that I have come across in my life, who I can go to for support, community, and weirdness are also important to me. And, on that note, volunteering at this program, which has helped to solidify my passion for social work, and where I have been able to find an amazing community of people from all walks of life, that accepts my weirdness! Finally, music is important to me: making music, listening to music, finding new music. There are times when there is nothing more exciting than finding a new favourite song.

What do you hope to have a career in?

Although I do not have a carefully formatted life plan I do know that I want to use what I have learned through my degrees and my practical experiences to work with communities and make lasting change. I am most interested in social advocacy, research and community initiatives.

What is something that most people do not know know about you?

I am grateful for the fact that I have a twin sister. We have been able to uniquely support each other through thick and thin. We have been living far away from each other for quite a few years now, but despite that we are still very close!

I am also a dual citizen of Canada and the United States. An exciting time for me was when I turned 18 back in 2008, and was able to vote in the federal elections of both countries. Although I have not lived in the United States for many years I am grateful to have the right to vote as I still have close family living there.

What is your favourite food?

Stir-fry of all kinds! So many possibilities!

Where do you Volunteer?

Here at the Emergency Food Hamper Program for the past three and a half years, and with the Social Planning Council for almost a year. I also volunteer on campus with the Women’s Centre and the Food Bank when I am in school.

What hobbies do you have?

I love movies – anything but not so funny comedies and gory horror movies. I also love singing in the choir and in an acapella group at my school.

Khadija

What are you studying in school?

I am majoring in Social Development Studies and Political Science with a minor in International Studies.

What do you hope pursue as a career?

I aim to work my way up the UN and become an international diplomat. I’m also highly intrigued with entrepreneurship and know that is a route I would love to explore even further in the future.

What do you hope to learn about this summer?

I would like to be able to engage with a diverse network of people in the community. As a student, I am continuously exposed to a certain demographic, which is why I would appreciate the chance to interact with people of all walks of life. I’m all about expanding my worldview! I’m looking forward to the chance to do some “grunt work” and remind myself of the value of a dollar. I am excited to work with a kind and caring team and to be able to work diligently as a team in order to help to serve others.

What is important to you?

It is important for me to always make sure I am building up my endurance whether that is on the race track or when I am powering through difficult tasks in school and work. Working on sharpening my mental and physical strength has helped me get through some very challenging times and I understand how crucial it is to my overall health.

What is something that most people don’t know about you?

I can read and write in Arabic but can’t speak the language fluently. I am of Persian descent, was born in New Delhi, India, raised in Canada, and can’t identify with any single one of the cultures I’ve been trying to assimilate together.

What is your favourite food?

Any sort of Italian food but specifically I’m obsessed with Cheese Cappelletti.

Where do you volunteer?

I volunteer with the UW Rotaract Club a local, national and international service club that fundraises for pressing issues in our communities.

What talents or hobbies do you have?

I am an avid writer – I blog extensively and I also write poetry. I love reading especially books and blogs about leadership and the tumultuous sagas of adolescence. I like to dance as a way to relieve stress. Music – in particular chillstep and Indie genres- can help me conquer any task ahead of me. I’ve been running long distance for years and am currently training for a 10K after just recently completing my first 5K! I’m even getting into weight training and I’m already hooked on it! I watch TED Talks on a daily basis, specifically on quantum theories which have always been an area of interest for me. I’m not a huge shopper but if it’s to a vintage boutique with authentic pieces of jewelry and accessories then I am definitely in! Self expression of all forms is a passion of mine.

One Response to “Welcome Chloe and Khadija”

  1. A Green Community Is Growing At Supportive Housing | Hofemergencyfoodassistance's Blog Says:

    […] summer Chloe and Khadija had the opportunity to visit the gardens of the House of Friendship’s Supportive Housing […]

Leave a Reply

