Let someone know they were “Born for Greatness” | Day 7 of #12DaysforGood

by

1464

-by Sarah Martin

I remember like yesterday the first summer I was hired to be a summer camp director. I sat down at my desk overwhelmed by everything I would need to do. I had one year as a leader under my belt and somehow, someone, somewhere thought it would be a good idea to hire me for this director position. My supervisor checked in with my that day and I decided to be honest about my fears and reservations. To my surprise he looked at me and without hesitation said, “You’ve got everything it takes to do this job and do it well, now stop doubting yourself and get to work.”

I’ve been blessed over the years to have a lot of really wonderful people believe in my gifts and abilities. There’s something so powerful about someone speaking words of confidence and faith into me, especially in those moments of insecurity. The #12daysforgood theme of ‘Faith’ celebrates having complete trust in someone or something. I want to “pay it forward” by taking a moment to make sure my younger brother and sister know that I have faith in them.

Scott – You have so much to offer the world. You’re amazing ability to always see the best in people will instill hope and confidence in the kids you work with as Child and Youth Worker. Don’t doubt your ability to make a difference, dive in and you won’t regret it. I believe in you.

Emily – You are one of the most loving and empathetic people I’ve ever met. People feel positive and encouraged when they spend time with you. Don’t hold back, you have so much to contribute to each person you meet and each community you become part of. You were born for greatness.

Join me in this simple #12daysforgood gesture by letting someone know that you believe in them, that they were born for greatness. To help you join me, I’ll be passing out these “Born for Greatness” buttons at Kitchener City Hall Wednesday December 16th from 12:30-1:30 pm. Come grab a button and let someone know they were “Born for Greatness”. << TWEET

IMG_20151209_093949 (1)

“Optimism is the faith the leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.” ~ Helen Keller

Follow Sarah’s 12 Days for good on Twitter!

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

